About Mitchell


The electoral division of Mitchell is named after Sir Thomas Mitchell (1792-1855), a noted Australian explorer and surveyor.

Mitchell covers an area of approximately 101 sq km from Nelson to Box Hill in the northwest down to Northmead and North Rocks in the southeast.

The suburbs of the Mitchell electorate include Baulkham Hills, Beaumont Hills, Bella Vista, Box Hill, Castle Hill, Gables, North Kellyville, Kellyville, Nelson, Northmead, North Rocks, Rouse Hill, Winston Hills and West Pennant Hills.

The main industries in the electorate are commercial and business services, light industry, education, health care and retail.

Members for Mitchell:

  • Alex Hawke (LP) 2007-present
  • Alan Cadman (LP) 1974-2007
  • Alfred Ashley-Brown (ALP) 1972-1974
  • Les Irwin (LP) 1963-1972
  • John Armitage (ALP) 1961-1963
  • Roy Wheeler (LP) 1949-1961